Provided by the California State License Board
1) Hire only state-licensed contractors.
2) Check a contractor’s license number on line at: www.cslb.ca.gov or by calling 800-321-2752.
3) Get at least three bids.
4) Get three references from each bidder and review past work in person.
5) Make sure all project expectations are in writing and only sign the contract if you completely understand the terms.
6) Confirm that the contractor has workers’ compensation insurance for employees.
7) Never pay more than 10 percent down or $1,000, whichever is less. Don’t pay cash.
8) Don’t let payments get ahead of the work.
9) Keep a job file of all papers relating to your project, including all payments.
10) Don’t make the final payment until you are satisfied with the job.
Please check out your contractors
While everyone appreciates a great bargain, there are, unfortunately, those who tend to prey on the unsuspecting.
Before engaging the services of a contractor, residents should be aware that California state law mandates any contractor bidding for a job more than $500 in parts and labor must be licensed.
Call the Contractors State License Board at 1-800-321-2752 to ask any questions or express your concerns about a contractor. You may also go to the California Contractors State License Board web site at: www.cslb.ca.gov.